Our Governance | National Child Protection Authority
Our Governance Banner image

Chairman's Message

Mr. Chanaka Udayakumara Amarasinghe

Chairman, National Child Protection Authority 

Senior Lecturer - Criminology & Criminal Justice 

University of Sri Jayewardenepura.

Email: chairman@childprotection.gov.lk 

Contact: 011-2778911-12-14 (Extension - 122)

Mobile: 077-3143330


Deputy Chairperson's Message

Mrs. Sujatha Alahapperuma

Deputy Chairperson,

National Child Protection

Authority Email :  deputy.chair@childprotection.gov.lk

She took primary and secondary education at St. Marys Convent Matara. Having sat for Advanced level exam in Sri Lanka she pursued her higher studies at the Sri Lanka Law College. At the end of her tenure, she got through Attorneys-At-Law finals examination in 1984.

Afterwards she commenced her practice in Matara courts as a junior lawyer to Attorney-At-Law Mr. Mahinda Wijesekara. After a one year period she began her own practice as a Criminal lawyer and a Notary Republic in the same courts.

In year 1989 she returned to Colombo and started work in Hulsdorph Courts. From her early years she had a dream of serving the country as a Judge, and in 1994 she sat for the Magistrate exam and was appointed as a Magistrate.

Until the year 2014 she was serving as a Magistrate and a District Judge across the country in several challenging locations. In year 2014 she was appointed as the Colombo District Judge and the President of the Judges Association of Sri Lanka.

As a value addition to her career she participated in several overseas training programs such as “knowledge sharing sessions for members of the Sri Lankan Judiciary” in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, “IP property rights” in Washington, training sessions at the National Judicial Academy, Bhopal in India, seminar and training at the Judicial Reform and Excellence in Singapore and on “Court Management, Case Management, Civil Law at Delhi Judicial Academy in New Delhi etc.

On 19th Feb 2015 she was appointed as a High Court Judge, and first served in Tangalle High Court, afterwards was transferred to Kalutara High Court. On 08th Feb 2019 she officially retired from the Judiciary service.

Currently she is with the National Child Protection Authority as the Deputy Chairperson.


Director General's Message

Mrs. Anoma Siriwardene

Director General, National Child Protection Authority 

B.Sc in Biology Special (UoK), MBA - Marketing (UoC)

Email: dg@childprotection.gov.lk


Contact: 011-2778911-12-14 (Extension - 106)

Mobile:  077-7278935

Board of Directors

Mr. Udayakumara Amarasinghe

Chairman - National Child protection Authority
Read more

Mrs. Sujatha Alahapperuma

Deputy Chairperson
Read more

Dr. Swarna Wijethunga

Senior Consultant Psychiatrist (Child & Adolescent)
Read more

Dr. Senaka Gunathilake

Senior Pediatrician
Read more

Dr.Ajith Thennakoon

Chief JMO, Institute of Legal Medicine and Toxicology
Read more

Dr. Pavithra K. S. Godamunne

Senior Lecturer
Read more

Mrs. Varunika Hettige

Senior Assistant Solicitor General
Read more

Mr. Asanka Karavita

Deputy Inspector General of Police (Crime)
Read more

Mrs. Ashoka Alawatta

Former Secretary, State Ministry of Women and Child Development
Read more

Dr. Kapila Bandara

Dean, Faculty of Education, University of Colombo
Read more


Commissioner General, Department of Labour
Read more

Mrs.Gayani Kaushlya Wijesinghe

Commissioner, Department of Probation & Child Care Services.
Read more


Director General, Ministry of Finance
Read more

Mr. M. H. G. Bandara

Additional Secretary (Admin)
Read more

Panel of Officers

Mrs. Hasini Pallawala

Senior Assistant Secretary (Admin), Ministry of Defense
Read more

Dr. Lal Panapitiya

Deputy Director General, Ministry of Health
Read more

Mrs. Roshani Hettige

Senior Assistant Secretary (Legal), Ministry of Justice
Read more

Mrs. M. C. S. Devasurendra

Deputy Director (Planning), Ministry of Mass Media
Read more

Mr. K. P. N. T. N. Devapriya

Senior Assistant Secretary, Ministry of Education
Read more

Mrs. A. M. G. N. D. Sumanasena

Commissioner, Women and Children Division, Department of Labour
Read more

Dr. H. S. R. Perera

Deputy Director General (Public Services ii), Ministry of Health and Indigenous Medical Service
Read more

Mrs. V. C. De Silva

Senior Assistant Secretary, State Ministry of Provincial Council and Local Government Affairs
Read more

Organisational Structure